Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/detroit6/public_html/wp-content/themes/Divi/functions.php on line 5480

Year of the Bird Proclamations in Southeast Michigan

Detroit Audubon was at the forefront of heeding National Audubon’s call for chapters to prevail upon local governments to issue proclamations declaring 2018 The Year of the Bird. This was in recognition of the 100 year anniversary of the Migratory Birds Treaty Act, one of this country’s earliest and most successful pieces of environmental legislation. It also coincided with National Audubon, Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology and National Geographic Society jointly designating 2018 as the Year of the Bird, with many feature articles in each organization’s publications on the topic. This also comes in the face of proposed legislation to weaken that act substantially and administration efforts to rollback protections.

Detroit Audubon was instrumental in securing Year of the Bird Proclamations from:

  • Belleville
  • Clay Township 
  • Dearborn
  • Ecorse
  • Flat Rock
  • Grosse Ile
  • Lincoln Park
  • Monroe
  • Riverview
  • South Rockwood
  • Wayne County Board of Commissioners
  • Wyandotte